Public Health News & Events

Public Health Program Graduate Brie Reed, MPH begins a fellowship with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a participant of the ASPPH/EPA Environmental Health Fellowship Program.  See the article in ASPPH News.  Congratulations Brie!


The Public Health Program successfully completed its first course in the Health Equity and Criminal Justice emphasis, Spring 2019.  The class included TUC students as well as members of the community.

Spring 2019 HECJ


Daily Republic publishes article about our recent Public Health Hero Awards Ceremony

The 13th Annual Public Health Program Hero Awards 2019 Ceremony and Dinner was a successful and inspiring evening attended by students, faculty, community members and our TUC leadership Provost Sarah Sweitzer and CEHS Dean Lisa Norton.

Hero Awards Group Picture 2019


Congratulations to the 2019 Public Health Heroes and special thanks to Keynote Speaker Mike McLively, Director of the Giffords Law Center's Urban Gun Violence Initiative, Mel Orpilla representing Congressman Mike Thompson and Jana Modena representing Assemblyman Tim Grayson and State Senator Bill Dodd who presented our Heros with Certificates of Special Congressional Recognition and California State Legislature Recognition.

Meet the Award Recipients and Keynote Speaker



MPH Alum News - The Touro California Record highlights:

Prevention as Medicine
Monir Tofangsazan, MPH, CEHS Class of 2012


The Touro University of California Public Health Program and the Oakland, California based non-profit organization Exonerated Nation collaborate for the California Exoneree Health & Well-Being Project (CEHW) to study the current state of physical, mental, and emotional health among California exonerees and their needs for immediate and long-term support.  Learn more in the CEHW newsletter.


Renowned Author Richard Rothstein visited TUC on February 5th

In his presentation and in his book The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How our Government Segregated America, Richard Rothstein explodes the myth that America's cities came to be racially divided as the result of individual prejudices, choices to live in same-race neighborhoods, income differences, or the actions of institutions like banks and real estate agencies.  

Listen to the audio presentation here

Dr. Reuben Miller of the University of Chicago visited TUC on January 15th to present:  Race, Punishment & the Afterlife of Mass Incarceration.

See the recorded presentation here.

Mobile Link Project

The study is highlighted on the funder's website:  Initiative 5%

 4th Annual Social Justice in Public Health Lecture Series:  Immigration & Public Health

The Public Health Program's Fall 2018 Social Justice Lecture Series concluded with a final presentation on November 26, 2018.  This year's series included an innovative collection of lectures and panel discussions from experts in the field and focused on the public health impacts of migration, immigration and anti-immigration policies on individuals, families and communities.  Click here for information about the speakers and recorded lectures.

A Gun Violence Prevention Symposium hosted by CEHS on 10.14.2018 included moving performances by Youth Speaks and panel discussions for building safe schools and communities: 

Performances by Youth Speaks & Panel Discussion for Public Health Policy

Educational Panel Discussion

Public Health Program Research News

The Program has been busy making contributions to research in the field of Public Health.  Here are some examples of the exciting work Program faculty, students and alumni are sharing in national and international forums.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients of the Social Justice in Public Health Fellowships:

Sammy Cheuk, Janis Ho, Desiree Miranda and Brian Xieu.

Provided through the Diversity Scholarship Fund, the Fellowships recognize students who demonstrate a deep commitment to building leadership and advocacy skills toward the promotion of health among vulnerable populations.  As part of this fellowship, students will also become part of a social justice student leadership team that will actively participate in furthering the mission of the Public Health Program.

Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) Partnership Academy

CBPR Photo

Funded by the National Institutes of Health, the CBPR Partnership Academy is a multi-faceted training and mentoring program designed for community-academic partnerships that demonstrated commitment and leadership in engaging in a CBPR approach to eliminate health inequities in their communities. Learn More. 





Professor Sarah Sullivan awarded Fulbright Grant Award!!


Professor Sarah Sullivan, Associate Professor, has been awarded  a Fulbright grant award to support her research ethics work in three universities in Bolivia.  She will be collaborating with the Universidad San Francisco Xavier de Chuquisaca (USFX), Universidad Mayor de San Simón (UMSS) and Universidad Autónoma Gabriel René Moreno (UAGRM) for several months each year over a period of three years. 
The Fulbright Program, which aims to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries, is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government. Funding for this award will support Professor Sullivan’s efforts in teaching research and research ethics classes related to the Responsible Conduct of Research, including topics on authorship, conflicts of interest, data management, plagiarism and research misconduct.


Public Health Footer